Home News About DMDM Database Statistics Research Publications Contact  

  Domain Name: proteasome_beta_type
proteasome beta type-4 subunit. The 20S proteasome, multisubunit proteolytic complex, is the central enzyme of nonlysosomal protein degradation in both the cytosol and nucleus. It is composed of 28 subunits arranged as four homoheptameric rings that stack on top of one another forming an elongated alpha-beta-beta-alpha cylinder with a central cavity. The proteasome alpha and beta subunits are members of the N-terminal nucleophile (Ntn)-hydrolase superfamily. Their N-terminal threonine residues are exposed as a nucleophile in peptide bond hydrolysis.Mammals have 7 alpha and 7 beta proteasome subunits while archaea have one of each.
No pairwise interactions are available for this conserved domain.

Total Mutations Found: 7
Total Disease Mutations Found: 4
This domain occurred 10 times on human genes (19 proteins).


 If you've navigated here from a protein, hovering over a position on the weblogo will display the corresponding protein position for that domain position.

 The histograms below the weblogo indicate mutations found on the domain. Red is for disease (OMIM) and blue is for SNPs.

 Functional Features are displayed as orange boxes under the histograms. You can choose which features are displayed in the box below.

Range on the Protein:  

   Protein ID            Protein Position

Domain Position:  

Feature Name:Total Found:
active site
beta subunit interaction

Weblogos are Copyright (c) 2002 Regents of the University of California

Please Cite: Peterson, T.A., Adadey, A., Santana-Cruz ,I., Sun, Y., Winder A, Kann, M.G., (2010) DMDM: Domain Mapping of Disease Mutations. Bioinformatics 26 (19), 2458-2459.

   |   1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250   |   Department of Biological Sciences   |   Phone: 410-455-2258